Energy Required to Vaporize Methanol

In summary, the engineer is talking about how to size a boiler. He explains that there are two terms in the problem, Q and CP. He mentions that the boiling point is around 60 degrees Celsius, and recommends using the maximum value for the CP. The engineer also mentions that the CP is at a constant pressure, so it is important to remember to adjust the value accordingly.
jjackson927
I apologize for the fact that I am a complete layman. It might be time for me to go and learn some thermodynamics.

I am working on the design for a production lab at my Community College, and while I'm sure we have engineers to do this for us, I was really curious about sizing a boiler. I will not be heating methanol alone, I think if I can understand the process, then I can do the rest.

I do believe there are 2 terms in the problem.

Q=CP (kJ/kg) * m *[tex]\Delta[/tex]T + Latent heat of Vaporization (kJ/kG)*m

Am I missing anything here? My question is, how do I account for that fact that the CP changes with the temperature of the medium? I have a background in Calculus and Diff Eq, with one semester of Physics (Calculus based mechanics), I'm just not sure what to do here.

Engineering news on Phys.org
Here are a couple of links for methanol properties:

http://www.engineeringtoolbox.com/methanol-properties-d_1209.html

http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&source=web&ct=res&cd=1&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.methanex.com%2Fproducts%2Fdocuments%2FTISH_english.pdf&ei=BmaDSe6tCd-Btwe9xbHICQ&usg=AFQjCNE2IumqcN455h4Lte2Id0rfFRRIXQ&sig2=ClwRe8q3jLPB9j2aQp29rA [Broken]

The easy way that works pretty well is to use a spreadsheet and calculate the energy required for small incremental temperature increase steps. Then you can use the referenced chart and adjust the Cp value as you increase temperature. To get the total you sum up the incremental changes.