Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Equations to describe physical systems

1. Mar 22, 2010 #1
    No, I don't mean the kind where you use equations to describe physical systems, I mean the kind where they take your picture. People have often told me that I could be a model if I wanted to be and probably make good money doing it. The whole idea of doing any kind of modeling repulses me but I was thinking it might be a good way to make a little bit of cash on the side since I'm a PhD student (and will be for a while) and get paid in peanuts.

So, I figured I would at least entertain myself with the idea a little bit but have no clue on how this whole thing works. Does one just send pictures of themselves to an agency and people decide if your pretty enough or something? This probably isn't the best place to ask but would anyone here know how to find out if anyone would want someone such as myself as model?
  2. jcsd
  3. Mar 22, 2010 #2
    Re: Modeling?

I thought this thread would be about modeling complicated systems :(
  4. Mar 22, 2010 #3

1: You go to a modelling agency.
    2: They either accept or break your confidence.

Point is though, pick the right one that targets the right people, taste is subjective and more based on 'types' than what you might think. Take Donnie Darko as a crude example, most girls would probably not find him attractive, dead eyes, clearly doesn't sleep enough, however all the girls that enjoy that film say he's cute, an opinion I share (I liked the film too).
  5. Mar 22, 2010 #4

1) Have a half-way competent photographer take your picture wearing various types of outfits. Ex: a sportswear look, a business look, etc. And a decent head shot.

2) Have the photos printed in 8 x 10 format