1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Equivalence relation - Proof question

1. Jun 12, 2013 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data

Prove that the relation, two finite sets are equivalent if there is a one-to-one correspondence between them, is an equivalence relation on the collection [itex]S[/itex] of all finite sets.

I'm sure I know the gist of how to do it, but I'm a beginner in proofs, and I'm not sure if I've written it down correctly. I absolutely encourage nitpicking in the following proof, as I wish to learn how proofs are correctly written. Thanks! :smile:

2. Relevant equations

N/A

3. The attempt at a solution

Let [itex]S[/itex] be the class of all finite sets.
    Let [itex] A, B [/itex] and [itex] C[/itex] be three finite sets.

Reflexive property

Now, [itex]n(A) = n(A)[/itex], and hence there exists a one-to-one correspondence between [itex]A[/itex] and [itex]A[/itex]

Therefore, [itex]A \approx A[/itex] ------------------(1)

Symmetric property

Let [itex]A \approx B[/itex]
    [itex]\Rightarrow n(A) = n(B)[/itex]
    [itex]\Rightarrow n(B) = n(A)[/itex], and hence there exists a one-to-one correspondence between [itex]B[/itex] and [itex]A[/itex]

[itex]\Rightarrow B \approx A[/itex]

Therefore, [itex]A \approx B \Rightarrow B \approx A[/itex]----------------(2)

Transitive property

Let [itex]A \approx B [/itex]
    [itex]\Rightarrow n(A) = n(B)[/itex]---------------------(3)

Also, let [itex]B \approx C [/itex]
    [itex]\Rightarrow n(B) = n(C)[/itex]---------------------(4)

From (3) and (4), [itex]n(A) = n(C)[/itex]
    [itex]\Rightarrow A \approx C [/itex]

Therefore, [itex] A \approx B[/itex] and [itex]B \approx C \Rightarrow A \approx C[/itex]--------(5)