1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Feeling Underprepared for Graduate School

Tags:
  1. May 14, 2013 #1
    Hello!

I'm an undergraduate physics and math major and I just finished up my third year at a small university. I plan on staying an extra year to fulfill all of my requirements, so I have over a year to figure out exactly what I want to do in the future.

I'm pretty set on going to graduate school; I do well in most of my classes and I am starting to really study for the GRE Physics subject test. My problem is this: I really like theoretical physics, but as I look into graduate school requirements and GRE scores and information needed for certain fields, I feel really overwhelmed.

Currently I'm leaning toward fields such as QFT, String Theory, Particle Physics, etc. because all of the mathematics really intrigues me. I'm stressed out because I know I won't have a huge background in a lot of fields like topology, functional analysis, differential geometry, etc. by the time I graduate, and I fear that I won't get into a good graduate program. Coming from a small university also worries me.

Does anyone have any advice on what I could do about this? What exactly can I do to effectively prepare myself for graduate studies in a mathematically rigorous field while simultaneously studying for everything else?

I'm really passionate about this and it's been on my mind constantly for months. Thanks in advance!

2. jcsd
  3. May 14, 2013 #2