1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Fields Medal 2014 to Maryam Mirzakhani

  1. Aug 12, 2014 #1


    User Avatar
    Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor


    Stanford Report, August 12, 2014

    Stanford's Maryam Mirzakhani wins Fields Medal

    Maryam Mirzakhani is the first woman to ever win the Fields Medal – known as the "Nobel Prize of mathematics" – in recognition of her contributions to the understanding of the symmetry of curved surfaces.


    There were three other winners.
  2. jcsd
  3. Aug 13, 2014 #2


    User Avatar
    Homework Helper

    Ah, Manjul Bhargava finally won it. I was an avid follower of his worked Putnam solutions (along with Kiran Kedlaya and Lenny Ng).
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2014
Share this great discussion with others via Reddit, Google+, Twitter, or Facebook