Find the force of the rod on the point charge

In summary, the problem asks to find the force of a rod with length L and total charge Q on a point charge q that is a distance D away and lies along the perpendicular bisector of the rod. Using the equations E = ∫ dE, dq = λdx, and F = qE, the force can be calculated by integrating from -L/2 to L/2 along the rod, with the second integral going to zero due to symmetry.
dk321

Homework Statement

A rod of length L and total charge Q is a distance D from a point charge q which lies along the
perpendicular bisector of the rod. Find the force of the rod on the point charge

Homework Equations

E = ∫ dE

dq = λdx

F = qE

The Attempt at a Solution

I'm trying to integrate this does the second integral of j go to zero?

[tex](kQ/L) [i\hat D \int _0L dy/(D^2+y^2)^(3/2) -j\hat \int _0^L ydy/ (D^2+y^2)^(3/2)][/tex]

sorry for the equation I'm still learning to use latex

Physics news on Phys.org
dk321 said:
I'm trying to integrate this does the second integral of j go to zero?

The second integral should go to zero due to symmetry. But I don't think you're setting up the limits of integration correctly. The problem statement says the test charge q "lies along the perpendicular bisector of the rod."

In other words, set up the system in your mind such that the test charge is on one of the axis, a distance D from the origin, and the the rod lies on a different (perpendicular) axis such that the center of the rod is at the origin. Then integrate along the rod from -L/2 to L/2.
sorry for the equation I'm still learning to use latex
See the link in my signature for a primer in [itex] \LaTeX [/itex] btw.

Last edited:
By the way, as a [itex] \LaTeX [/itex] example, I think the equation you were trying to type in, with limits of integration corrected, is (Right lick on it to see the LaTeX source):