Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Homework Help: Force needed to make a disk climb a step

1. Apr 19, 2008 #1
    [SOLVED] Force needed to make a disk climb a step

Howdy ho. First off, let me say that I'm a newbie here, and I'm not sure if this is the correct place to put this doubt. Here's the deal:

1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data

We have a disk, and we need to know the force F needed to have it climb the step, with 50mm. The force is applied at the top of the disk.

............F <---- .....
    ....................|........|
    ..................|............|
    ___________|............|
    ........50mm | |........|
    .................|___....._______

Sorry for that draw, it's the best I could do.
    The only known data is:
    the step has 50mm;
    the disk is uniform and weights 40N;
    no friction is to be considered.

2. Relevant equations

-

3. The attempt at a solution

I've tried solving it in several ways. I've considered a normal vertical reaction 1 between the ground and the disk, and considered a normal diagonal reaction 2 between the disk and the tip of the step. I also considered that the angle this reaction 2 makes is 45º. So, I concluded that, in the vertical axis, we have: 40 = N1 + N2.sin45º.
    After this, we would have in the horizontal axis the force F and N2.cos45º. I thought that one condition for the disk to climb the step would be: F > N2.cos45º.
    However, this wouldn't be enough. So I used the moment. The moment the force F causes in the center of the disk is F.r . We do not know r, so this would lead to another variable in another equation. So, unless there is missing some data here, I don't know how to solve it. I have the solution, and it says the force should be F=17,88N .