1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Force needed to make a disk climb a step

1. Apr 19, 2008 #1
    [SOLVED] Force needed to make a disk climb a step

Howdy ho. First off, let me say that I'm a newbie here, and I'm not sure if this is the correct place to put this doubt. Here's the deal:

1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data

We have a disk, and we need to know the force F needed to have it climb the step, with 50mm. The force is applied at the top of the disk.

............F <---- .....
    ........50mm | |........|

Sorry for that draw, it's the best I could do.
    The only known data is:
    the step has 50mm;
    the disk is uniform and weights 40N;
    no friction is to be considered.

2. Relevant equations

3. The attempt at a solution

I've tried solving it in several ways. I've considered a normal vertical reaction 1 between the ground and the disk, and considered a normal diagonal reaction 2 between the disk and the tip of the step. I also considered that the angle this reaction 2 makes is 45º. So, I concluded that, in the vertical axis, we have: 40 = N1 + N2.sin45º.
    After this, we would have in the horizontal axis the force F and N2.cos45º. I thought that one condition for the disk to climb the step would be: F > N2.cos45º.
    However, this wouldn't be enough. So I used the moment. The moment the force F causes in the center of the disk is F.r . We do not know r, so this would lead to another variable in another equation. So, unless there is missing some data here, I don't know how to solve it. I have the solution, and it says the force should be F=17,88N .

Sorry for any language error, english is not my native language, and is not the language I'm using in classes, so I may have mistaken some technical terms.