Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Homework Help: Force on Particle due to Sphere with Cylindrical Hole

1. Jan 24, 2009 #1
    Note: This is my first time using LaTeX. Any formatting advice would be appreciated.

1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data

Consider a homogeneous sphere of radius R_s made of a material that exerts a force obeying the inverse r-squared law (i.e. a particle of this material exerts a force on a test particle [tex]\vec{F}=\frac{K}{r^2}\hat{r}[/tex], where the vector r points from the particle to the test particle and K is a real number such that positive values are repulsive and negative values attractive). Next, consider a cylindrical hole of radius R_d that is removed from the sphere such that the axis of the cylinder passes through the center of the sphere. The hole passes completely through the sphere. Finally, consider a test particle arbitrarily placed on the axis of the cylinder a distance R from the center of the sphere. Determine the force felt by the test particle due to this configuration.

2. Relevant equations

3. The attempt at a solution

Due to the cylindrical hole, I decided to construct the sphere by integrating cylindrical shells. I defined the x-axis to be the axis of the cylinder and the y-axis to be orthogonal to the x-axis. Considering two particles equidistant from the test particle and the x-axis, I found the force on the test particle to be [tex]\vec{F} = \frac{2 K r_{x}}{r^3}\hat{x}[/tex], with [tex]r=\sqrt{r_{x}^2+r_{y}^2}[/tex] and r_x and r_y being the x- and y-components of the distance from the particles to the test particle, respectively.