Force required to accelerate upward against gravity

In summary, @PeroK has found an equation that calculates the force needed to accelerate an object upward against gravity. The equation takes into account mass, acceleration, and gravity, and provides a figure for the required force.
Big Tommy C
So I am working on a project where I am attempting to accelerate an object upward Against Gravity but I am having trouble figuring out the math behind the force needed to do this here is what I have come up with so far,my apologies I am not very good with math

I found this equation
W=m(a+g)y

W=work required
M=mass of object
A=acceleration of the object
G=acceleration due to gravity
Y=displacement of the object

Is this the equation I should be using? I can't really figure out what my acceleration due to gravity would be since I'm going against gravity, but here is my scenario.

The object starts from a stationary position and accelerates upwards with a constant force.

Mass of object 1814kg
Acceleration 9.8m/s2
Displacement 1.291 meters
Time to cover 1.291 meters .5 seconds

Engineering news on Phys.org
Work is force * distance, and force is m(a+g), so yes, that equation works fine.
g is fixed at 9.8 m/sec near sea level, so you're essentially accelerating (an elevator car say) at a proper 2g to 4.9 m/sec in half a second.

Likes Big Tommy C
So my equation should be 1814(9.8+9.8) and then multiply that by 1.291 meters?

Big Tommy C said:
Why do you want to ascend ##1.291m## in precisely ##0.5s##?

That corresponds to an acceleration of ##10.328 m/s^2##.

Likes Big Tommy C and russ_watters
Big Tommy C said:
What are you trying to calculate? The force you need to apply? And do you want it to stop at the top, or is carrying on flying upwards acceptable? Note that gravity hinders you starting it moving but helps you to stop it, and how much braking force versus accelerating force you can apply will probably affect your solution.