1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Former engineer, currently upgrading in physics

1. Jun 6, 2013 #1
    Greetings,

I did a degree in electrical engineering a few years ago from ottawa
    university, and due to some immaturity and life circumstances (got
    a nasty bout of mono in my first year and barely made it through)
    graduated with an atrocious 2.5 GPA.

I've always had a love and appreciation of physics, and my math
    physics grades have always been decent (B-range) though my eng
    classes have been less so. I've wanted to
    do graduate studies for a long time, and have been upgrading at
    U of T in the hopes of becoming a competitive applicant. Recent
    years have shown an upward trend of B to B+ in senior classes.

After a lot of research, reading threads and the like, I'm getting the
    sense that the competition is very fierce particularly in my subject
    of interest (quantum optics) and that even an upward trend will be
    met with failure if I were to apply to any serious research groups.
    Most departments won't even glance at an application that isn't
    B+ or better. I can't correct the past grades, and in spite of improvement
    they seem to be a death-knell to any prospective supervisor.

Does anyone have any advice on how I could proceed? I feel quite
    defeated in pursuing my goals, and my peers/professors haven't been
    much help.

Charlie

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 6, 2013 #2
    Okay I'll offer you some specific advice because I too am a UofT physics student.