Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Automotive Formula 1 Traction Control tuning

1. Jul 20, 2016 #1
    Hello, I'm a mechanical engineering student and I'm working in traction control for Formula 1 cars.
    The traction control in the cars is simple, too simple: an engine cut is done when the engine is at a certain RPM and slip value. A matrix of four values of RPM and slip has to be provided to limit the rev.
    I have a bunch of question about the tuning:
    What is the best way to tune this kind of traction control?
    What parameters can influence this values?
    As the traction control is not aware of the gear: do gear ratios have any influence? I thought that shorter gearbox induce more acceleration at lower RPMs and thus, more slip risk.
    What is the tolerated slip for a formula 1 car?. I know that there is a slip value for peak acceleration and for road cars is about 17%. What is the value for an F1?
    Thank you.

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 20, 2016 #2

jack action

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Are you sure these are not wheel RPM?
    If you only have the engine's RPM, you would have a theoretical maximum acceleration for a given car speed (which will reflect on the RPM's acceleration as well). If the value is greater then there is slip.
    It seems to be in the same area based on the tire data for these Formula SAE tires (figure 8).

4. Jul 19, 2017 #3
    Hey how did your project goes? i am intersted in your progress please let me know how's the result

5. Jul 19, 2017 #4
    Doesn't the slip depend rather heavily on which tyres are on the car and the state or condition of those tyres? In F1 they have to use two different grades of tyre in a race and each grade of tyre will have a different rate of degradation. Does the matrix get modified in any way to account for these variations?