Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

FORTRAN conversion from int to char OR zero suppression

1. Apr 25, 2008 #1

I am new with FORTRAN but experienced with PLI/I, Cobol (mainframe), Clipper (PC) etc.

As an exercise I'm writing some small pograms.

Now I have one problem/question:

I have an INTEGER array (ARPAS). When printing this array I want to suppress printing the zeroes; only # 0. This option I can't find.

Then I tried to make a turn-a-round: convert those INTEGERs to CHARs (CHARPAS):

CHARPAS (RIJ , KOL) = ACHAR(ARPAS (RIJ , KOL) ) and even

and then conditioned printed (IF char .EQ. '0' print a space..)

Result is a lots of ☺ etc.

Input is : 0 1 0 7 0 21 0 35 0 35 0 21 0 7 0 1 0
    and I want is : bb 1 bb 7 bb 21 bb 35 bb 35 bb 21 bb 7 bb 1 bb

where bb is blanks/spaces.

Any idea what goed wrong?

2. jcsd
  3. Apr 26, 2008 #2

Homework Helper

Hi sergegirard,

I don't think I really understand exactly how you want your output formatted, so I may not be giving you the right information. But if you want to convert from a numeric to a character array here is one way.

The functions ichar and achar do not convert values from integer to character and vice versa, at least not in the sense of of taking the number 35 and converting it to the string '35'. They convert between a symbol and its ASCII code, so for my system I get:

print*,ichar('a') -----> prints out the number 97
    print*,achar(97) -----> prints out the letter 'a'

because 97 is the ASCII code for 'a'.