1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Free Access to Online Physics Journals for Students?

1. Jul 29, 2010 #1
    I am a student from a third-world country. How can I access the APS and other online journals? In my country most students dont have a .edu email address. Any idea where I can access such kind of valuable knowledge? Also, I have seen that most of the reasearch papers are locked behind a sub-wall? Any particular reason why?

I really love to read new stuff. Unfortunately, I am not privileged to study in an american or a british college. I just came across this link on the PhysicsForums about free access:

https://www.physicsforums.com/showthread.php?t=419118

But I am not able to access these journals? What should I do?

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 29, 2010 #2

eri

You can't access them because the journals charge a subscription fee which most universities would pay for you. You can access some for free if they have been posted at http://www.arxiv.org . Those you should be able to access from anywhere.

4. Jul 29, 2010 #3

cristo

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor

Does your university library have subscriptions to the journals?

5. Sep 4, 2011 #4
    Nope. it doesnt. :(

6. Sep 4, 2011 #5

jtbell

Staff: Mentor

It costs money to produce a scientific journal.

7. Sep 4, 2011 #6
    But if researchers start posting themselves electronically, then wouldnt it be free?

8. Sep 4, 2011 #7
    Researchers publish in high end journals for a reason, it isn't just about getting your work out there, it's about having your work recognized in a decent journal. That usually means people have to pay to read it.

9. Sep 4, 2011 #8