• Support PF! Buy your school textbooks, materials and every day products via PF Here!

Where to find interesting and challenging problems in Physics and Math?

• Thread starter Tazerfish
  • Start date
Summary: I would like to know your favorite (freely accessible) resources and exercises.
Preferably not ordered by topic, university (bachelor) level and requiering some creative thinking/ no overly tedious calculations.

I was not sure where to put this, feel free to place this thread in another category if you are an admin.

Let me start by giving some background:
I am a fourth semester physics student and have previously participated in my country's (germany) selection process for the International Physics Olympiad (IPHO).

I really enjoyed the "puzzle" aspect of the exercises and I still "chase" problems like the one we were given in preperation for IPHO.

Recently I have come to regret that even now, after only four semesters, a lot of what I have learned is fading in my memory, and the best way to refresh this knowledge is doing problems IMO.
They provide a good indicator to what you have and have not understood /remembered.

They should
ideally cover a wide range of topics, be challenging and require some tricks or outside the box thinking. (and be solvable in more than one way)

Some examples of the sort of problems I am looking for:
-IPHO exercises
-Harvards Problems of the week
-publicly accessible exams from previous semesters

The web is full of classical mechanics problems and I like solving them, but exercises for more advanced topics are harder to come by, especially for more theoretical physics.

I am looking forward to your replies. :smile:
What do you do to keep your minds fresh and dust from collecting on knowlege of previous semesters ?

Wrichik Basu

Insights Author
Gold Member
2018 Award