From Computer Science to Solar Energy Engineering

In summary, a computer science major may not be the best choice for someone interested in pursuing a career in solar engineering. A student should take courses in mathematics, physics, and engineering in order to be well-prepared for a graduate program in solar engineering.
SolarGirl
I'm currently studying computer science, but I'm convinced solar engineering is where I'm supposed to be. I have some robotics courses coming up junior and senior year, but I would like to know what are some of the engineering courses I could take during the summer to prepare me for a graduate program focusing on solar engineering?

I'll have two full summers to rack up on courses during undergrad, and 'd like to be prepared for a grad program and not have to take prereqs before I can take my grad level courses.

TIA!

Engineering news on Phys.org
If you're studying CS, you probably don't have advanced of math classes as you will for an "engineering" degree, perhaps courses such as Calc 3, Differential Equations and Linear Algebra... At my school, it seemed no matter what the "engineering" degree (mechanical, electrical, civil, computer, etc) all of them required those math courses, but some friends majoring in CS didn't need higher than calc 1 nor diff. eq. if I recall.

Also, I would suggest you take some EE courses, at least the basics like Circuits 1, etc. Physics 1 and 2 with calculus, and certainly advanced chemistry classes couldn't hurt (I think most universities have two chem and physics courses, they have "general physics" 1&2 and then they have "university physics" 1&2, with the latter being the one that Engineers needed (same was true for chem, there was "general" and "university"), also something like organic chem might help? I'm the first to reply so we'll see what other people think!