1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Getting involved with research without graduate degree?

1. Feb 17, 2015 #1
    Hello,

I am studying mathematics and biology as an undergrad. I have always want to do a PhD, but due to having a B- average, I need to set up a realistic plan, (i.e, not going to grad school and try to find a job) although I have not given up hope entirely.

I am seriously interested in aging. Recent results from Harvard and Stanford seem to show that the fountain of youth is not entirely fictional and I wish to get involved with research in aging. But obviously I can't get into Harvard or Stanford, I will be more than happy if I can get involved anywhere though.

So I thought of doing my undergrad in bioinformatics, (similar to what I have done so far, I can just stay for one extra year) getting a job as a bioinformatics developer. I will keep on studying on my own, get to know the people who do research and maybe share my own thought over a cup of coffee.

If my research interests were in pure mathematics or theoretical physics, I would not even have posted this. I can just read new papers on ArXiv. But for biology, I will need access to all the expensive lab materials. So my question is, how much can I get involved, with just a bachelor's degree, specifically in aging research with a bachelor's degree?

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 17, 2015 #2
    The quick answer is internships :)
    @Ryan_m_b might have more advice

4. Feb 17, 2015 #3

analogdesign

Science Advisor