1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Going to grad school and lacking a little confidence

1. Aug 24, 2014 #1
    Hi, I'm applying this semester to get into a Phd program, math or possibly physics and am serious about it, however I have only completed a Bachelor level degree and while I studied very hard and know as much as I can it just keeps on surprising me when I see the level of degree of the work involved at the higher levels.

Normally I just do it and don't worry about how hard something is. I solved some very difficult problems in complex analysis one time and that didn't bother me, BUT when I look at this qualifying exam in basic analysis from Duke University.

http://www.math.duke.edu/graduate/wqual/analysis_aug2014.pdf [Broken]

It just seems as if no matter how much you know you can always find something that exceeds all of your knowledge.

Am I wrong in lacking confidence when I see something like this? Is it okay to apply to a program even if you aren't at this level yet?

Or am I just supposed to REACH this level once I've been there several years training?

Does anyone else ever feel this way?

Last edited by a moderator: May 6, 2017
  2. jcsd
  3. Aug 25, 2014 #2

jedishrfu

Staff: Mentor

Everyone feels this way, its part of learning at the higher levels. Each year of undergrad work is roughly 3 years of high school work and each year of graduate school is correspondingly harder.

When you become a PhD you're still at the beginning of a long road to total mastery of your subject where you now know what you don't know. ( or maybe not :-) )

Its a lot like earning a black belt where it takes 2 years of concentrated practice to achieve it and then another 2 years to get to 2nd degree and 4 years to get to third degree...