Grad school admission odds in Canada

In summary: The admissions process is different at every school, so I can't speak to the particulars of your case.
opusmach
I'm an undergraduate at a quality (though not highly ranked) private school in the US, but I think I'd like to go to grad school in Canada for the experience. My grades are decent (~3.70) and will have a couple of years of research by the time I graduate. I'm thinking of applying for a masters at a top school in Canada and subsequently to a PhD program in America.

So my questions is how hard is it to be accepted into a physics graduate program at a school like British Columbia or Toronto compared to a US school like Cornell or UC Berkeley? I understand Canadian schools receive fewer applicants (not 100% sure if this is true) and generally don't require the PGRE, but is there any reason to believe admission is substantially easier?

Physics news on Phys.org
Welcome to PhysicsForums!

I can't comment specifically on your question--I went into graduate school in EE (from Engineering Physics, but basically EE), but at the same school I did my undergrad at. My school might not be the most prestigious institution in the country (as loaded of a description as that is) but I like to think it's a pretty good school (and according to some publication with whatever arbitrary criteria they use to quantify schools--graduate and undergraduate combined--we rank #127 in the world).

But in general, grad school departments (and individual advisors) will receive far more applicants (with varying degrees of seriousness / spamming) than available positions, so by no means is it simply a matter of submitting your application (not that I'm saying you've implied this).