1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Graduate in Computer can be theoretical Physicist?

1. Aug 16, 2012 #1
    Hi friends,
    I am Harsh kumar from India. I am a computer graduate, with a good sense of district Mathematics. I always wanna be an theoretical physicist but i unfortunately ended with computer graduation due to my personal reasons I am physically handicap, never mind that, but as my life leads me my love of physics increases day by day second by second. even I have no science background at academic level. So what I am trying to say If there is any way, no matter how hard it could be! to be a pioneer in physics.

your words could transform my life so be sensible and if you could please guide my life.
    I explored every corner of the internet to find the desirable answer.

My age is only 24, and i am bachelor in computer application.

Last edited: Aug 16, 2012
  2. jcsd
  3. Aug 17, 2012 #2

fss

If you have no physics education or training you should probably work on that first.

4. Aug 17, 2012 #3
    But you won't become theoretical physicist because more or less there are no jobs for one. What can you do is to go work for finance as programmer which you can more or less do with your current degree.

Ofc you can let's say get PhD in Physics and then work for free as researcher while earning your living by a crappy job. But:

1) If you are handicaped you probably need more money than regular human

2) Crappy jobs aren't suited for handicaped people because they require physical labour

So unless your programming skills are so high that you can live by contracts (which means working hard 1-3 month per year on a contract and then you get free time to use it as researcher) then there is no way to become theoretical physicist.