1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Graduate School Applications and Health Problems

1. Dec 6, 2013 #1
    I have been reading posts on PF for a while, but I have not signed up until now. I am applying to graduate programs this year. I have been told I have a very strong application. I have been doing theoretical physics research for 3 years, have taken 16 graduate courses in math and physics (including QFT), have multiple presentations, have a publication (possibly two) in the works, and have been doing a very significant, independent, research-based project. However, I have some serious health concerns that affected my physics GRE score (food allergies). I don't want my application to be sunk because of this, so I was wondering if I am doing the right things to address the problem. Right now, I am including a note at the end of my personal statement explaining my health problems and how it affected my score. I am also having one of my recommenders include a note on this in his recommendation. Should I be doing anything else? And might this affect admissions even if I address the problem?

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 6, 2013 #2
    Can you give an indication of what you actual GRE score is?

4. Dec 6, 2013 #3
    I was at the 69th percentile. It wasn't as bad as it could have been, but it is not very good for theory.

Last edited: Dec 6, 2013
  5. Dec 7, 2013 #4
    My take on this: Who knows. Every admissions group is different, and there are a fair amount of a-holes out there. I know at my institution, one of the profs was a real stickler for having high GRE scores (really high) and others fought with him about it. His requirements were having implications on always selecting theory bent students over experimental ones just on the basis of the GRE score.