Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Gravitational pull of manmade satellites

1. Sep 16, 2014 #1
    Hi there,

to answer some people believing in astrology, I wanted to know what was the order of magnitude of the difference of the gravitational pull between famous stars & the man-made satellites...
    I have no knowledge in math or so I have no idea...

I just thought that I would find it funny if the lost screwdriver from an astronaut orbiting earth would be 100x more influent than any well know distant star... :p
    Or if there is a comparison between pluto pull & the ISS pull...

Anyone able to do the math easily ??

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 16, 2014 #2

Nugatory

Staff: Mentor

You can do the math yourself. If an object has mass ##m## and is at a distance ##r## from earth, it's gravitational force will be proportional to ##m/r^2##.

Here are two examples to get you started:
    - a moon-sized object twice as far away as the moon would have one-fourth the influence (same ##m## but ##r## is twice as great, ##r^2## is four times as great);
    - an object with one one-millionth of the mass of the moon would have to be one thousand times closer than the moon to produce the same pull.

4. Sep 21, 2014 #3
    Better yet, do a calculation of the tidal acceleration that each sort of object creates. That's the difference in gravitational acceleration across some distance, like one's size. To lowest order, it's GMa/r^3 for size a. The next-order terms have relative size a/r and thus can be ignored.

It should be easy to do this calculation.

But although one can show that tidal forces of distant objects are teeny teeny teeny tiny, an astrologer can get around that problem by positing some otherwise-unknown force that makes astrology work. This issue can be addressed in these ways:
    1. Independent evidence of such a force