1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

GRE-level conceptual questions

1. Jun 21, 2009 #1
    I'm studying for the GRE Physics, and I have a few conceptual questions that have arisen while I have been attempting practice problems, but which I do not understand even after reading the provided solutions.

1) I understand that in systems with normal mode oscillations consisting of, for example, two masses connected by springs, there is always a "symmetric" normal mode wherein the masses oscillate together, as if they were one mass. In one problem we were given two out of three eigen-frequencies of such a system (consisting of two pendulums on a tube sliding on a wire), and we were asked to choose the third form a list. apparently, neither of the two given corrosponded to the symmetric mode, and there was one in the list , f=Sqrt(g/l), that did, so that was the answer. How can you tell if an eigenfrequency corrosponds to a symmetric normal-mode?

2)In one problem we are expected to know that, in the bohr model of an atom, the ioniziation energy is proportional to the reduced mass of the electron-nucleus system. Is there an intuitive line of reasoning that explains why this is the case? is it that if one thinks of the system as literally two masses orbiting eachother, the force needed to keep them in orbit is somehow proportional to the kinetic energy of the system?