Hand-cranked battery charger,looking the helps

• Thread starter quartz69
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Battery
In summary, a brushless DC motor can be used as a generator if it is properly geared up and has a commutator. The output voltage will be proportional to the RPM of the motor.
quartz69
Hye guys,

I'm just a beginner in the area..i have a project of hand-cranked battery charger..
I supposed to improve the current charger in every way possible..
How could i the miniature generator, to generate the energy by turning the crank..
Is there any diagram that i can study or any other way so that I can get the clear view about the principle of the charger..

Looking for your expertise!

Engineering news on Phys.org
First, you should look at the basic principle of "generator" operation. They operate on the principle of Faraday induction, which basically is V = -(d/dt)∫B·dA. Because of the d/dt operator, the generator RPM should be much higher than the typical hand crank RPM to get the needed voltage, so gearing is needed to speed up the generator.

Second, you need to decide on what the "generator" is. The old-style generators, a wire-wound armature rotating in a regulated stator field winding with a commutator to get a dc voltage out from the armature, is inefficient. You should consider only a permanent-magnet rotor with the ac voltage taken off the stator (no commutator), or a wire-wound armature rotating inside a permanent-magnet stator, with the dc voltage taken off the armature via a commutator. The former requires rectification via a bridge rectifier, which costs 2 diode drops in voltage (and power) loss. A third generator option is the alternator (like in automobiles), using voltage feedback to the armature via slip-rings and taking a regulated dc voltage off the stator via a bridge rectifier, would get rid of the required dc-dc converter mentioned below. (Alternators are probably only suitable for power outputs over several hundred watts).