Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

I Harmonic Oscillator equivalence

1. Feb 6, 2017 #1
    Hello, I'm studying the section 2.2 of "Introduction to Quantum Mechanics, 2nd edition" (Griffiths), and he shows this equation $$\frac{\partial^2\psi}{\partial x^2} = -k^2\psi , $$ where psi is a function only of x (this equation was derivated from the time-independent Schrödinger equation) and k is defined as $$\frac{\sqrt{2mE}}{\hbar}.$$

Then, he refers to the equation above as being the classical simple harmonic oscillator equation. That's where my question comes: I can't exactly see how he made this connection with the following harmonic oscillator equation (for masses and springs with constant k, for example) $$ m\frac{d^2 x}{dt^2} = -kx$$

Any help will be very appreciated. Thanks :)

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 6, 2017 #2

Orodruin

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member

Mathematically it is the same equation, just changing the names of the variables.

4. Feb 7, 2017 #3

Demystifier

Science Advisor

Which is a misleading coincidence.

5. Feb 7, 2017 #4

Demystifier

Science Advisor

The ##k## in the first equation (Sec. 2.2) has nothing to do with the ##k## in the last equation (Sec. 2.3). Your first and second equation have nothing to do with harmonic oscillator, and Griffiths does not say that they do.

6. Feb 7, 2017 #5

Orodruin

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member