1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Help! Pharmacy or Math/Physics/ComputerScience or Psy?

1. Oct 5, 2009 #1
    Time for me to decide a major, and I am stuck!

FYI, I am a girl but during the years in elementary school I was raised like a boy, so I am boyish, I did good in Math and Physics back in High School. I like to figure out relationship between number. Two math teachers told me to go for math.

But my family wanted me to go for pharmacy and I've worked & volunteered in pharmacy part time for about 4.5 years. Working at pharmacy is easy, except the fact that I am not good with names (both drugs and patients.)

Other than that, I got this instinct inside me. I don't know whether I am very good at observation of what, I can sense what a person is feeling easily. I am good with comforting words. I want to be a psychic or hypnotic if I can find a job for it.

Other info is that I am very sensitive with a lot of things, with beauties, with rights and wrongs... I have a lot of sensors all over my body. And I like to imagine and create things...

so what major should i choose?

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 5, 2009 #2

lisab

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Hi mikapple, welcome to PF!

Well, I believe your "psychic" abilities could be real but they aren't supernatural. It sounds like what you have is excellent http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Emotional_intelligence" [Broken]. And those skills will help you immensely in any field you choose.

But this decision is yours. When you picture your ideal life, what are you doing? Are you working in pharmacy, or doing something more like engineering/science work?

Last edited by a moderator: May 4, 2017
  4. Oct 5, 2009 #3
    Math/Engineering.

5. Oct 5, 2009 #4
    Medical Physics?

6. Oct 7, 2009 #5