Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Help plotting interacting Turing modes

1. Jul 3, 2014 #1
    Hello, everybody.

I'm trying to replicate plots from

Yang et al. 2002. Spatial resonances and superposition patterns in a reaction-diffusion model with interacting Turing modes. Phys. Rev. 88(20)

using Mathematica, to explore specifically under what parameter values the pattern of Figure 3c is stable.

I am a biologist by training, and the notation of PDEs is a bit beyond me (I am also not sure how to define the initial conditions [perturbations of steady state]), but what I have so far to replicate the plots is (in Mathematica 7):

(* Fixed parameter values used to generate Figure 3c *)

a = 3;
    Dx1 = 1.31;
    Dy1 = 9.87;
    Dx2 = 34;
    Dy2 = 344.8999;
    b = 6;
    \[Alpha] = 1;

(* from equation 1, equations Structured as: Laplacian + interaction + Brusselator *)

e1 = D[c1[x1, y1, x2, y2, t], t] ==
    Dx1*(D[c1[x1, y1, t], x1, x1] +
    D[c2[x1, y1], y1, y1]) + \[Alpha]*(c3[x2, y2, t] -
    c1[x1, y1, t]) +
    a - (b + 1)*c1[x1, y1, t] + c1[x1, y1, t]^2*c2[x1, y1, t];

e2 = D[c2[x1, y1, x2, y2, t]] ==
    Dy1*(D[c1[x1, y1, t], x1, x1] + D[c2[x1, y1, t], y1, y1]) +
    \[Alpha]*(c4[x2, y2, t] - c2[x1, y1, t]) +
    b*c1[x1, y1, t] - c1[x1, y1, t]^2*c2[x1, y1, t];

e3 = D[c3[x1, y1, x2, y2, t], t] ==
    Dx2*(D[c3[x2, y2, t], x2, x2] +
    D[c4[x2, y2, t], y2, y2]) + \[Alpha]*(c1[x1, y1, t] -
    c3[x2, y2, t]) +
    a - (b + 1)*c3[x2, y2, t] + c3[x2, y2, t]^2*c4[x2, y2, t];

e4 = D[c4[x1, y1, x2, y2, t], t] ==
    Dy2*(D[c3[x2, y2, t], x2, x2] +
    D[c2[x1, y1, t], y1, y1]) + \[Alpha]*(c2[x1, y1, t] -
    c4[x2, y2, t]) + b*c3[x2, y2, t] -
    c3[x2, y2, t]^2*c4[x2, y2, t];

InteractingBrusselator = NDSolve[{e1, e2, e3, e4},

{c1, c2, c3, c4}, {x1, x2,y1,y2,t}]