1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Help with becoming a Mechanical engineer

1. Sep 4, 2015 #1
    hi i'm Jonathon and i would love to get some support from someone who has a mechanical engineer degree. i'm a junior in high school recently i have pinpointed down what i think i what to be career wise and a mechanical engineer is something that i would love to do. i'm a hands on person that's how i learn best. i am really really bad at math and i would love to get some feed back on the kind of math that i am going to be learning as a mechanical engineer i have a desire for taking things apart and trying to put them back together i'm the kind of kid that if something brakes i try and fix it. is this the degree that sounds best for me.

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 4, 2015 #2

DEvens

Education Advisor
    Gold Member

"Really bad at math" isn't the first thing one thinks of when contemplating a mech eng. Here is U of Toronto's program.

https://www.mie.utoronto.ca/undergrad/mechanical/curriculum.php

First year you do calculus and linear algebra. Later years include a variety of quite mathematical things such as statistics, numerical methods, etc. And much of the design work of mech is heavily math oriented.

Maybe you want to be a technologist of some kind?

4. Sep 4, 2015 #3

berkeman

Staff: Mentor

Welcome to the PF, Jonathon.

Back in the beginning and middle of high school I didn't think I was very good with math either. But I knew I wanted to get into Engineering in college, and I knew there would be a lot of math involved, so I resolved to try to get better at math. By the time I got to my freshman year of college, I was pretty comfortable with math, and did just fine in my coursework.