Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Help with Matlab solving second order differential equations

1. Oct 19, 2010 #1
    I am a Matlab rookie. I need to solve numerically the following second order differential equations

d^2x/dt^2 + w0_(el) * x = e/m_e * E - K3/m_e * x *y;
    d^2y/dt^2 + w0_(v) * y = - K_3/2M * x^2;

I have started to deal with only the harmonic part of the problem. So I tried to solve

d^2x/dt^2 + w0_(el) * x
    d^2y/dt^2 + w0_(v) * y

with the following program

t = 0:10^(-15):0.5*10^(-9);
    x0 = zeros(1,2);
    x0(1) = input('Insert the initial value of x');
    x0(2) = input('Insert the initial value of dx/dt');
    [t, x] = ode45(@harmonic, t, x0);
    plot(t, x(:, 1), 'g')
    title('Electronic position vs time'), xlabel('Time '),
    ylabel('Position')
    hold
    figure
    plot(t, x(:, 2), 'b')
    title('Nucleus position vs time'), xlabel('Time '),
    ylabel('Position')

where the function "harmonic" is

function ydot = harmonic(t, x)
    ydot = zeros(2,1);
    w_e = 10^30;
    w_v = 10^24;
    ydot(1) = x(3);
    ydot(2) = x(4);
    ydot(3) = -w_e*x(1);
    ydot(4) = -w_v*x(2);

The outcome is a damping oscillation behaviour for x, which is of course meaningless because there aren't damping terms in the harmonic equations. So I am pretty desperate, if someone can help me I wuold be very glad.
    Thank you!

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 25, 2010 #2
    Hi,

I believe that you have mixed your variables in the ydot function. Try the following ydot function

ydot = zeros(2,1);
    w_e = 10^30;
    ydot(1) = x(2);
    ydot(2) = -w_e*x(1);

Write a similar function for the w_v.

4. Oct 25, 2010 #3