Homework Help First day NOOB to physics

In summary, someone new to physics is having trouble understanding what they are doing in the help guides and books, and they are asking for help with two specific questions. The first question is how to convert .998 grams/cm^3 to kg/m^3. The second question is how to find the volume of the Earth to the correct number of sig figures. Someone was able to help the person by converting the grams to kilograms and providing the equation for the volume of a sphere. The person was then able to solve the equation in the correct order.
mrserv0n
I am new to physics and have bought the dummies books and help guides, I just can't grasp it, and it doesn't help I stink at algebra, can someone PLEASE help me with these 2 questions in detail so I can understand what I am doing wrong. Thank you SO much.

Convert .998 grams/cm^3 to kg/m^3

I understand that .998 grams is .000998 kg , and I know that 100cm = 1 meter but I don't know what to do with this information.second questions is
The radius of the Earth is 6.37X10^6 meters. Determine the volume of the Earth to the correct number of sig figures.

I am forever grateful to those whole could help a lost soul

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
First Question hint: would you be able to just convert grams to kiligrams? or just cm to meters? try doing the first step(grams to kgs) then i'll get back to you.

Second question hint: What is the formula for the volume of a sphere? Remember geometry?

Show some work and i'll be able to help you a little better.

Conversion factors:

1 kg = 1000 grams = 10^3 grams
1 m = 100 cm

So

1 m^3 = (100)^3 cm^3 = 10^6 cm^3

Or, going the other way:

1 gram = 10^-3 kg.
1 cm^3 = 10^-6 m^3

So

0.998 g/cm^3 = 0.998 (10^-3 kg)/(10^-6 m^3)
= 0.998 (10^3) kg/m^3
= 998 kg/m^3

G01 said:
First Question hint: would you be able to just convert grams to kiligrams? or just cm to meters? try doing the first step(grams to kgs) then i'll get back to you.