1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

How can I be a successful engineering student ?

1. Dec 2, 2016 #1
    Hi, I am third year nuclear engineering student. How can I get good marks in really difficult courses such as signals and systems / nuclear theory/ these engineering courses are hard i guess that the way I studied things in school doesnt work at university level right ? so what things should I work on to get good marks and to build my self for engineering jobs when i graduate

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 2, 2016 #2
    Study and practice. When you have a specific problem or a question start a thread on it.

4. Dec 2, 2016 #3

Choppy

Science Advisor
    Education Advisor

Well, that's a pretty broad request.

The broad answer to the first part (getting better marks) is that you have to figure out how you learn and what works for you in terms of performing well on examinations and assignments.

Some things to consider...
    1. Time In
      How much time are you putting into each course now and does your understanding improve if you put more time into your studies?

2. Technique
      How much of your study time is spent solving problems? And how much do those problems reflect those that you encounter in examinations?
      What do the students who are getting top marks do differently from you?

3. Review of Background Material
      Are you struggling with any material that is assumed knowledge? Often if students learn "for the exam" but don't have a great practical grasp of the material, it can come back to haunt them in later classes that build on that material. Do you spend any time systematically reviewing relevant material.

4. Resources
      Do you find your textbooks helpful? If not, could you approach your professors for alternatives?