• Support PF! Buy your school textbooks, materials and every day products via PF Here!

How can I derive Eq 9.5.11 in Scully's Quantum Optics

Problem Statement
In the Scully's Quantum Optics textbook, section 9.5, an equation 9.5.11 is given to calculate the time derivative of the operator $$(a^\dagger) ^ma^nO_A$$. I try to derive this equation by myself, however, there are several problems.
Relevant Equations
Eq-9.1.1, Eq-9.3.5, Eq-9.5.5~10
Firstly, I don't know in which Picture this equation holds (if I hadn't missed some words in the previous text...). I think it may be the Heisenberg Picture. But if it is, the rest target is to prove $$\frac{i}{\hbar}[H_R+H_{FR},(a^\dagger) ^ma^nO_A]=\langle\frac{d}{dt}((a^\dagger) ^ma^n)\rangle_RO_A$$. Left side of this equation is something dependent on $\hat{b}$, but the right side is not. So how can I prove this equation?

(This is my first time to post a problem in Physics Forum, so if I did something wrong remind me please and I will correct.)
Thanks very much!

Cryo

Gold Member
I think you have a lot of typos in the equation above it seems inconsistent. For starters, you seem to have ensemble average on the RHS, and just the pure operators on LHS. Please check and define all terms. Also, can you please present the question in a self-contained way, so that people would not need to check the book to understand what you mean?

Looking beyond this, what seems to be the problem? You have an operator, you have the Hamiltonian, you find the commutator of the former with the latter, and this is your time-derivative.

But you have already written it all that. So what is the question?