How do I decide which sub-field of Physics I want to pursue?

In summary: Just keep an open mind and explore your options.In summary, the conversation discusses the topic of choosing a sub-field in Physics and the importance of research experience. The speaker is a freshman at UT Arlington and is considering pursuing Astronomy but is unsure due to the lack of opportunities at their university. They seek clarification on how to make a decision and if it is important which sub-field they do research in when applying to graduate school. The responses suggest taking a variety of courses and seeking research experience to help make a decision, and that research experience is more important than the specific sub-field. They also recommend reading about different fields and attending colloquia to learn more about different research areas. Ultimately, the advice is to keep an open mind and explore all options before
Phys12
I'm a freshman at UT Arlington and I will get my undergraduate degree in Physics from that university. Now, I am sure that I want to pursue Physics, but not quite sure of the sub-field. I lean towards Astronomy a lot, and I will probably end up doing that. The problem is that my university doesn't have a lot of Astronomy going on (it is relevant, but not exactly great). Though, It has one of the best High Energy Physics (HEP) departments in the country and there's tonnes of research happening there. Based on these facts, there are three clarifications I require and I'd highly appreciate it if you could help me out:

1) How do I decide which sub field I like the most? The reason why I ended up picking Astronomy is because I took an online 1st year course from ANUx and loved it so much.

2) Will it be a good idea to switch from Astronomy to HEP because my university is focused more in that field?