Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

How do video games allow you to take different paths each time you play?

1. Jul 10, 2012 #1
    Does a chess program game knows every move that you can make? Does that mean that every possible outcome exists in the chess game and it just creates a path everytime you play by saving that path? Does this apply to more complex games with open worlds? So would it be correct to say the second you turn on the game all possible action the player can perform from begining to end exist? If this is not explained I will try again.

I have no knowledge of programming so could you keep your answer simple.

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 11, 2012 #2

chiro

Science Advisor

Hey billa12 and welcome to the forums.

The programs do have rules for the moves that can be made for both the human and the AI component if one exists.

It's not a simple thing though because a lot of different things determine this. Let's give a few examples.

You have for example generic non-game code in things like 3D games. An example is collision detection. Most of the time collision detection will always block players from moving through walls and other objects, regardless of the game specific code.

Then you have game specific code. This code might restrict the user from doing certain things like going into certain areas or doing other specific things.

With the AI in games like Quake III, the AI knows all the information about your position and uses it to make decision. It's like the AI bots have a lock-on all the time and once you are visible (which is determined through computational geometry techniques), they use some instructions (code) on how to act and shoot throughout the game. There are usually parameters that correspond to difficulty.