How do we know that wave f. is the eigenfunction of an operator H?

• Thread starter 71GA
  • Start date

Main Question or Discussion Point

I am kind of new to this eigenvalue, eigenfunction and operator things, but i have come across this quote many times:
##\psi## is the eigenfunction of an operator ##\hat{H}## with eigenvalue ##W##.
First i need some explaination on how do we know this? All i know about operator ##\hat{H}## so far is this equation where ##\langle W \rangle## is an energy expected value:

\begin{align}
\langle W \rangle &= \int \limits_{-\infty}^{\infty} \overline{\Psi}\, \left(- \frac{\hbar^2}{2m} \frac{d^2}{d \, x^2} + W_p\right) \Psi \, d x
\end{align}

From which it follows that ##\hat{H} = - \frac{\hbar^2}{2m} \frac{d^2}{d \, x^2} + W_p##.

Aditional question:

I know how to derive relation ##\hat{H}\hat{a} = (W - \hbar \omega)\hat{a} \psi## for which they state that:

##\hat{a} \psi## is an eigenfunction of operator ##\hat{H}## with eigenvalue ##(W-\hbar \omega)##.
I also know how to derive relation ##\hat{H}\hat{a}^\dagger = (W + \hbar \omega)\hat{a}^\dagger \psi## for which they state that:

##\hat{a}^\dagger \psi## is an eigenfunction of operator ##\hat{H}## with eigenvalue ##(W+\hbar \omega)##.
How do we know this?

Answers and Replies

HallsofIvy
Science Advisor
Homework Helper
That's pretty much the definition of "eigenfunction" and "eigenvalue", isn't it?

That's pretty much the definition of "eigenfunction" and "eigenvalue", isn't it?
What exactly here is the definition? Which equation?

What exactly here is the definition? Which equation?
Any equation of the form
##\hat{H} \psi = E \psi##
is an eigen-equation

The functions ##\psi_n## which satisfy this equation are called the eigenfunctions of the operator ##\hat{H}##, with corresponding eigenvalues ##E_n##.

Put simply, when an operator ##\hat{H}## acts upon one of its eigenfunctions, it returns the same eigenfunction multiplied by a number, which we call the eigenvalue.