Understanding the Role of a Voltmeter in Electrode Potential Measurement

In summary: Voltmeter measures voltage difference between two points.When measuring electrode potential of some redox system, it is said that voltmeter reading contains sum of all potential differences present in a cell. This includes all electrode/electrolyte potential differences, contact potential differences between electrodes and probes of voltemter and possibly liquid junction potential. Probes of voltmeter are connected with two electrodes.However, since voltmeter measures potential difference between two points, how can it sense sum of all potential differences in a cell if it is connected only between two electrodes and not all potential differences are created at these two points?Although I am not an expert on such measurements, I know one does not use a voltmeter since first a voltmeter draws
Dario56
TL;DR Summary
How Does Voltmeter Sense/Measure All Potential Differences Present in an Electrochemical Cell?
Voltmeter is an instrument which measures electric potential difference between two points.

When measuring electrode potential of some redox system (vs SHE for example), it is said that voltmeter reading contains sum of all potential differences present in a cell. This includes all electrode/electrolyte potential differences, contact potential differences between electrodes and probes of voltemter and possibly liquid junction potential. Probes of voltmeter are connected with two electrodes.

However, since voltmeter measures potential difference between two points, how can it sense sum of all potential differences in a cell if it is connected only between two electrodes and not all potential differences are created at these two points?

Chemistry news on Phys.org