How does glue reinforce two sheets of paper joined together?

In summary: For dynamic loads, a more sophisticate solution must be used, which is a three dimensional analysis. In this case, you must model the deformation of each sheet as a member of an elastic continuum. This is done by solving a partial differential equation for each sheet. Vibrations and torsion are then calculated by solving these equations.For static loads, simplest way may be to us moment-area method. You just treat each rectangular piece of paper part as beam. This method does not allow calculation of torsion modes of sheet or vibrations, but is sufficient for flexural loads response calculation. Shapes are typically hyperbolic functions after you integrate deflection along the sheet.For dynamic loads, a more sophistic
Phylosopher
TL;DR Summary
Take two sheets of paper, glue them together. How hard is it to bend the papers?
I am no engineer, just a physicist. I usually do not work with such problems, so I basically do not know what to look for to begin with.

My question/questions goes like this, take the following situation:

Fetch a paper, such single paper is easy to bend. If one takes glue, and glue this previous paper with another one. Obviously, the two papers are harder to bend.

• How to model the "resistance" to bend of a simple two dimensional object? (Formulas, methods, coefficients etc...)
  • How does glue enforces the two sheets, and how to model its effect? (I am seeking empirical as well as theoretical formulas)

I am clueless on this subject and I do not really know where to look at! I surfed throw the following on wiki: Bending, Bending Moment.

Engineering news on Phys.org
If glue is non-penetrating, and glue layer is thin, rigidity is simply proportional to the square of number of sheets bonded.