1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Support PF! Reminder for those going back to school to buy their text books via PF Here!
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

How much calculus is needed for physics

1. Nov 17, 2012 #1
    I want to self study physics from Halliday's Fundamentals of Physics.I know that I can't study physics without calculus,but I am asking you how much of it I need to know for each area.
    I am studying it from Stewart's Calculus 7th edition.

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 17, 2012 #2
    Well first, you might want to get a better calculus textbook. I suggest using Spivak for complete understanding; but if you don't care so much for completeness and only need calculus to use as a tool to tackle physics problems I suggest you go with something like Kline's book.

Stewart's book is horrible

SolsticeFire

4. Nov 17, 2012 #3

jtbell

Staff: Mentor

Not a whole lot. At this level, all you need is basic knowledge of derivatives and integrals, and how to apply them to simple functions like polynomials and trig functions.

In the US, students often take an intro physics course at this level concurrently with the first two semesters of calculus.

5. Nov 17, 2012 #4
    I disagree. For what the OP needs, Stewart is fine.

Is it the best Calculus book? No. But he doesn't need Spivak to start with some basic physics.

6. Nov 17, 2012 #5
    Just because it is sufficient to teach him what he needs to know for Halliday doesn't mean that he should be learning Calculus from it.

I would agree that Spivak would be a little over the top, but there are other books (Lang's A First Course in Calculus, for example).

7. Nov 18, 2012 #6