1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

How should I go up stages in mathematics?

1. May 30, 2013 #1
    I'm a student of a university in Japan. I'm enrolled in correspondance course. I'm a philosophy of science major.
    I need to study mathematics and physics basically.I think I need to study maths and physics or other subjects in English. I can barely understand them in Japanese because Japanese textbooks use too many difficult "kanji" to translate academic words and they don't have so clear description.
    When I checked some words with English dictionary for learners, I found that it is very clear and simple description. So, I thought ,perhaps, it is a good way to study these subjects in English.
    How do you think about my idea?
    Next question is a more concrete.
    I found a old book written in English about mathematics in a local library in a university. It deals with pre-algebra. Is it a correct type of mathematics to start to learn mathematics? Or if not, would you recommend some books for beginners? And would you advise me how I should go up stages of matrhematics step by step?
    I don't know how pupils and students from other country study mathematics or other subjects. So, I don't know which types of mathematics they begin to learn maths.
    Once I've got a good information from this site which recommend some books, but I found that I had enough money to buy it.
    At present,my purpose is to achieve A level in Cambridge International Examinations.
    I'm looking forward to hearing from you.

Last edited: May 30, 2013
  2. jcsd
  3. May 30, 2013 #2

SteamKing

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Homework Helper