1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

How to build a better foundation in mathematics?

1. Dec 24, 2008 #1
    Not sure if this is the right place to post (new here) but here goes.

I'm a college freshman in the US and am pursuing a major in math. I feel that I have a rather weak background in math: I took the same garbage courses in high school as everyone else, never really paid too much attention, and mostly BS'ed my way through BC Calculus without learning the subject very well. I somehow pulled off a 5 on the AP exam, but I would tend to discount that as either a fluke or a clerical error by the College Board. Last semester I took an introductory linear algebra course and did frightfully badly in it; the professor generously awarded me a B. Next semester I'm taking Intro to Abstract Math along with Multivariable Calculus. Anyways, I'm now wondering what I need to do to develop a better mathematical foundation. I'm willing to start as basic as I need to, and I have some time before the next semester begins. Any tips? Advice on where to go? Free/online resources are definitely a huge bonus over printed material.
  2. jcsd
  3. Dec 24, 2008 #2
    Multivariable Calculus should be relatively easy if you actually know your single-variable calculus well.

I would pick up a decent calculus book (I hear "Stewart's" is very reputable) and review differentiation, integration and all of the Critical theorems that are mentioned and I would think you would be fine.

Oh, and by review I do not mean to just read through; I mean to read through and then take pencil to paper and do as many problems from each chapter as time will allow you.