How to choose between two labs I like for my dissertation?

In summary: Are you happy with the financial situation?In summary, the first year PhD student is considering whether or not to join two out of the three laboratory rotations that they have completed. They like both of the PIs, but are not sure if they would be happy in each lab. They are considering other factors, such as the mentorship style of the PI, availability of the PI, level of collaboration between grad students, and other factors.
Kinase
I'm a first year PhD student and the program I'm in requires three laboratory rotations. I have finished those and all three of the PI's explicitly said they want me to join their lab. I would consider joining 2/3 of them. I really like both PI's and the work they do (and the work they would let me do) and could see myself being happy in each lab.

I'm not sure what other factors I should be looking into to help me decide. They both have funding to keep me around for the foreseeable future, They're both younger PI's but come from good pedigrees... Any input?

Physics news on Phys.org
Ask other students who already work in these labs what it's like and why they chose to work there. Maybe you'll hear something that will tip the balance one way or another.

Sounds like a tough decision, but that there isn't a wrong answer. I'm assuming you've thought about these things, but here are some factors:

1. Mentorship style of the PI (some people prefer a hands-off approach, others don't)
2. Availability of the PI (are they always travelling?)
3. Level of collaboration between grad students (both within the group, and with other labs)
4. This one sounds silly, but... office space. Some groups have offices that house all of the grad students in the group, whereas others (at least here) have offices that have 2-3 people each in them. In my opinion, this has a pretty big effect on the group dynamic, see #3.

Additional things to consider:
  1. Details of the potential projects