Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

A How to determine if 2 particles come from the same process

1. Jun 1, 2016 #1
    Hi,
    I am studying the Higgs discovery and i've got a doubt. One of the process used to discover Higgs is the decay H -> γγ in 2 photons. At LHC there are detectors of photons that can measure energy and momentum of them. So if you measure the energy and the momentum of both, you can calculate the mass of the particle from which they are produced.
    This is easy if you only receive 2 photons, but if you get many of them, how can you decide which of them come from the same process?
    For example, if 2 Higgs decay in 4 γ, how can i decide the couples?

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 1, 2016 #2

Orodruin

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member

You get a lot of photons in the detectors, from Higgs decays and background processes. The point is that when you plot the distribution of the invariant masses of all photon pairs, the pairs coming from Higgs decays all results in the same invariant mass - giving a peak at that value in the plot.

4. Jun 1, 2016 #3

ChrisVer

Gold Member

One way could be obtained once you ask yourself how ATLAS sees photons.
    Roughly speaking, photons will be the energy deposits in the calorimeter system that have no track pointing at them....
    Once you get those "photons" you can check their "signals" in the detector by eg checking how the energy is being deposited within the calorimeter components; in that case you can get an idea of what the photon's momentum direction was... once you know the photon's momentum direction, you can track it back and see from where it comes from.