1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Studying How to feel motivated to start learning?

1. Oct 23, 2016 #1
    Well, I'm a physics undergrad student and I am in the second semester. I feel unmotivated most of the time, I need to spend some hours reading textbooks to engage in a subject (And get amazed about it), but this requires time and willpower.
    Sometimes I got some time after class to study with my friends, but I can't concentrate with then around and don't know an educated way to leave and study alone. (And I just can't do it, I would feel guilty somehow).
    My university is in my hometown, so I live in home with my parents and study in Uni. (2 hour travel, everyday, and I can't read in the bus)
    In home is a little better then the library, I can just stay alone in my room, however my parents disturbs me every hour.
    I don't know an easy way to get motivated to study, even the subjects that I like most.
    Even worst, I got few hours to study in the weekends, but feel tired and procrastinate a lot, but somehow I Manage to read some theory and do some assignments.

Anyway, I got average scores and I know that I can do better than this. What should I do?

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 23, 2016 #2

Stephen Tashi

Science Advisor

It also requires adequate sleep and freedom from worry about non-textbook topics.
    Are you getting enough sleep and exercise? Is your inability to excuse yourself from your friends due to some social anxieties?

4. Oct 23, 2016 #3
    Go out & try to get a desirable job without a degree. That usually does it.

Seriously, tho...