1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

How to get there? (learning physics)

1. Jan 7, 2016 #1

ege

Greetings folks!

I am studying Industrial Engineering and that's my freshman year, I have some questions :

Physics is kind of my hobby although my curriculum hasn't a lot to do with physics I would like to advance on my own.

As math skills are crucial I have to briefly introduce my condition,I am currently taking calculus course, next midterm I will be taking linear algebra and multivariable calculus and differential equations next year. However, I dont want to wait for them I'd like advance on self-pace.

->So what titles should I add to my arsenal for advanced physics? I know that might be an early question but I have to make a mindset for myself.

->Is it possible for one to advance in physics on his own? If yes is there any source you can advise or track should I follow?

->Quantum mechanics amazes me but as I am completely beginner I just skim the sources. How should I study for that field? What are the required skills for to study and understand the subject properly?

Thanks a lot!

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 8, 2016 #2

jedishrfu

Staff: Mentor

To get your feet wet, you could consider Leonard Susskinds videos online and his books on Classical Mechanics and Quantum Mechanics,. The math is heavier than conceptual physics approaches but not as heavy as what you'd get in a undergrad course. He calls it the theoretical minimum.

http://theoreticalminimum.com/

4. Jan 9, 2016 #3
    This is good (and free)
    https://www.physicsforums.com/insights/self-study-calculus/
    Teaches Calculus I, II, and III, which should be enough for most engineers, though complex calculus can also be of help, e^iwt is just magical.