How to get to a PhD in Applied Physics ?

In summary: Thanks for the input!In summary, an undergrad pursuing a physics major should consider a major in CS with some classes in engineering science and mechanics.
Wertle
Hey everyone! I've spent a lot of time checking out various posts through this site but I'm definitely in need of some guidance right now so I figured I'd ask a question of my own.

Basically I'm an undergrad (sophomore) right now, and I'm pretty positive I want to work my way up to an eventual doctorate in applied physics. I love programming and I'm hoping to structure my career around computer modeling and simulation of physical systems.

My problem is I'm not really sure what to do as an undergrad to get there. Right now I'm pursuing a double major in Computer Science (CS) and Engineering Science and Mechanics (ESM). I chose ESM because it seemed very similar to applied physics and I loved the research going on in the department (I'm at Virginia Tech in case anyone cares).

Lately I've been questioning my decision of ESM. While I love the department, I'm not as fond of the classes. Most of the students are engineers more interested in solving the problem than understanding the physics, and I have to take about 14 credits of fluid mechanics and 12 credits of deformations that just don't interest me the way Electromagnetic Theory and Quantum Mechanics do. However the ESM dept at VT is very well regarded and does a lot of phenomenal research.

So, is it time I left ESM for a physics major?

Physics news on Phys.org
I can't really help you specifically with your end goal.. but I would say that most of the engineers that I'm in classes with (I'm a physics major) are just like you've described. They're more into JUST the application, rather than understanding the theory. From what my physics advisor has told me, going to grad school in ANY physics based program, pretty much requires a physics major.