How to get your work published

• Physics
  • Thread starter dsaun777
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Work
In summary, it is difficult to go from being a hobbyist in physics to becoming a professional researcher without spending many years on PhD study. It takes a lot of hard work, dedication, and perseverance. It is also important to have a passion for the subject matter.
dsaun777
I am not a physicist but I have a degree in applied mathematics and have taken physics classes up to special relativity and I was allowed to sit in on a General Relativity course for a semester. I have few thoughts that I think are interesting and want to pursue them further but they are still a bit mathematically crude. How do I go beyond just studying physics for fun into something more serious without spending years earning a PhD in physics? My end goal is to get a paper published in arxiv.org or something that will record my work.

P.S. I am aware of the hundreds of people claiming to have a "theory of everything." I am not one of those people.

Physics news on Phys.org
dsaun777 said:
I have few thoughts that I think are interesting and want to pursue them further but they are still a bit mathematically crude.
The first thing is to study and rethink and study and revise and study and repeat until it is no longer crude. Furthermore, you need to be well informed about everything that has already been done on the topic and be able to put your work in proper context and clearly explain the novel aspect. This will be difficult since you won't have a mentor to guide you.