1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

How to know more about the frontiers of modern physics research?

1. Nov 5, 2014 #1
    I'm a first year physics undergraduate. I'm trying to look for some research opportunities as becoming a physicist is always my target. However, I simply have no idea how the current research is going on, and before I approach any professors I guess I should already have some basic understanding in that specific field, right? So, how can I keep track of the current development of scientific research? I know I should read some journals, but are there any strategies of reading those journals and papers? Right now, I'm particularly interested in the 'small things' like quantum optics, solid state and condensed matter, but I may consider other fields as well. Are there any journals that I must definitely read? Besides, as a first year student, I guess I will come across lots of concepts or topics that I've never heard of while reading journal articles. What should I do in these cases? I mean how well do I need to understand the topics in order to have a good overview of a field?

btw, I study in the UK and the things I've learnt/read are: Griffith EM ch.1-9, some Lagrangian Mechanics, very basic QM(one dimensional potential in a well, potential barrier, etc, but haven't learnt the hydrogen atom), some SR, 1st and 2nd Law in thermodynamics (just started to read some Stat Mech books)

thanks

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 5, 2014 #2