Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

How to simulate lognormal distributions?

1. May 17, 2012 #1
    I am studying statistics and am interested in understanding the log normal distribution. From some discussion I gather that the log normal distributions arises from multiplicative effects while the normal distribution arises from additive effects. I generated the following matlab code to simulate the normal distribution.

clear
    for j = 1:10000
    S = 0;
    for i = 1:1000
    S = S + rand(1)-0.5;
    end
    T(j) = S;
    end
    hist(T,100)

If you add a bunch of random numbers between -0.5 and 0.5 you get more or less a gaussian
    by the central limit theorem.

Now I am interested in simulating the log normal distribution, but not sure what to do. Has anyone ever tried this. I saw that if the variance grows in time in certain stock market models you can get a log normal distribution. Also the number of proteins in cells is more or less log normal distributed.

Thanks,
    jackaip

2. jcsd
  3. May 17, 2012 #2

Stephen Tashi

Science Advisor

If you generate [itex] X [/itex] as a normal random variable then [itex] e^X [/itex] is a lognormal random variable.

You should look at better algorithms for generating normal random variates. I don't know them by memory, but if I happen to run across one, I'll post it.

4. May 18, 2012 #3

chiro

Science Advisor

Hey jackaip.

If you can simulate a normal variable (if you don't have a tool, use R: it's free and you will able to do what you need in 5 minutes), then simply simulate a normal and then calculate a new variable which is eX which basically calculates the exponential of each realization created and stores this in another vector. This vector will be log-normally distributed.

In R, this will look like:

x = rnorm(10000,0,1)
    lognorm = exp(x)
    hist(lognorm)