Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

I How to solve for the volume of the universe / redshift

1. Dec 28, 2016 #1
    Hey !

i am having this question to be answered , i am new to the cosmology studies and still a bit confused about some formulas.

the question is:
    (a) The greatest redshift known corresponds to the cosmic microwave background
    (CMB, CBR) at redshift z 1100 (although the redshift is obtained theoretically
    rather than observationally). UDFy-38135539 is a galaxy with the high redshift of
    z = 8:555. By what factor did the volume of the universe increase between the
    epochs corresponding to z = 1100 and z = 8:555?

what i am thinking of is using the scale factor with the relationship of the redshift for z= 1100

R= 1/1+1100 = 1/1101

then calculate the volume for a dimension universe of the z= 1100

volume = 1/1001*1/1101*1/1001*V (z=8.555)

is that corrects ?

otherwise how i can be solving this question.

thanks

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 28, 2016 #2

Jorrie

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Note that you should not talk about the volume of the universe, because that is an unknown. Rather say "what is the ratio of the scale factors for the two redshifts?"
    The scale factor a = z+1, where the present a=1. Using this information, the answer to this question is simple to calculate.

4. Dec 28, 2016 #3
    many thanks but i still cannot get it. i thought of solving for the R = 1/1+z of both galaxies and substract the two values to reach the the volume increase between the two epochs.

5. Dec 29, 2016 #4

Jorrie

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

The scale factor correlates with distance increase, not volume increase. And sorry, in a hurry, I forgot the divide, because I should have written a = 1/(z+1), not z+1.