How to tame a wild possum or chipmunk

• Thread starter animallover45
  • Start date
In summary, the conversation discusses various experiences with wild animals, such as possums, chipmunks, and squirrels, and the possibility of taming them as pets. Some people share their success in training chipmunks and squirrels to eat out of their hands, while others talk about keeping possums as pets and the challenges that come with it. There is also some humor and joking around about the topic.
animallover45
i have a wild possum that i have been feeding every nite for 4 months and i am wondering how to make her a pet?

Physics news on Phys.org
Possums are quite trusting, and I would like to train one, but at this latitude I see them infrequently. At our old house, we had a "regular" possum at our bird-feeder and he'd show up with a friend every night. He would show up in the company of a feral cat, a skunk, or even a 'coon, eat his fill of sunflower seeds, and move along.

Training chipmunks is easy, especially if they are females. Female 'munks need access to a lot of clean store-able food so that when they give birth in the winter they have enough food in their larder to wean all the babies. I can hand-train a female chipmunk in less than 1/2 hour, tops. Sit quietly with some sunflower seeds near you until the 'munk will come and take the food, fill her face and leave to store it. Move the food closer to yourself and repeat. Then leave the food in your hand, holding your hand palm-up and open on the ground. When she is comfortable taking food from your hand, rest your hand on your legs, so that she has to climb onto you to get it. From there, it's easy. Chipmunks recognize you, and will willingly climb your clothing and dive into your pockets looking for food when they see you.

munkonleg.jpg

i was going to write something funny about chipmunks diving into pant pockets looking for nuts, but I can't think of anything.

256bits said: