I am very new to quantum physics. Want to know how photons move.

In summary, the conversation discusses the behavior of photons in quantum physics. It is mentioned that photons exhibit both particle and wave properties, and that their movement can be described as a probability amplitude rather than a straight line. The concept of the uncertainty principle is also brought up as it relates to the movement of photons.
anantchowdhary
I am very new to quantum physics.Now i would like to know how a photon moves.
Is it in a straight line,or is it in a wave like pattern?

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
Like all quanta, photons/light have both particle and wave properties and exhibit wave-particle dualism. Light has a magnetic and an electric component, both these vectors are perpendicular to each other and are in phase. The direction of these two vectors is the mutually perpendicular direction to both these vectors.

Reshma, it sounds like you are describing EM waves, not photons. As for "how a photon moves", no one knows! In order to observe a photon, it has to interact (that is, be absorbed by) some detector. So the only way to register the presence of a photon is to destroy it. That's why you can't know what happens inbetween points A and B. If you try to detect it at some intermediate point C to see what is happening between A and B, you'll destroy it sooner and get nothing at B.

Thanks for correcting me (I was unsure of the exact nature of the OP's question :shy:).